Montesquieu’s 3 Types of Governments

American Minute with Bill Federer

Montesquieu’s 3 Types of Governments: Republics; Monarchs; and Despots who rule by Mandates & Executive Orders

“Society … must repose on principles that do not change” — wrote MontesquieuThe Spirit of the Laws, 1748, Book 24.

Montesquieu was a French political philosopher whose books were read by Catherine the Great of Russia, praised in England, and banned by Louis XV of France.

He greatly influenced America’s founders, with Thomas Jefferson even translating Destutt de Tracy’s Commentary on Montesquieu, August 12, 1810.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.